The Book Thief: Some thoughts on it (contains spoilers)

The Book Thief (2013) Poster
souce: imdb.com

I can hardly sit through movies which are anti-climatic. Melowdramas and documentaries always leave me sleeping or doing something else besides watching.

I watched The Book Thief, because it was the only movie in the theatre besides LEGO MOVIE that had an an above average rating in imdb, and also because the book was a New York Times Bestseller .

I was utterly surprised to find myself hanging on to every scene- even crying in one of them. The movie humanized Hitler’s rule. It made the suffering people of that era come to life. I could feel myself empathizing with characters’ sadness, frustrations, joys and fears.  Given, that the story is a work of fiction, the emotions felt so genuine. Sophie Nelisse, the actress who plays Liesel (the heroine), has promising future ahead of her. Her acting is calm and understated but the underlying emotions are strong and well portrayed. Emily Watson (adoptive mother) and Geoffrey Rush (adoptive father) delivered very touching performances as well.

Movies often make me think and ponder about various things related (or semi-related to it).  Just wanted to share some of the things that crossed my mind
post-viewing:

  • It made me reflect how events in history (or people in history) are sometimes  objectified to facts in history references. The only thing that separates the past from the present is time. 100 years from now, people might be looking at my laptop and smartphone as primitive artifacts of the past. But that’s just how the world works. The past 100 years ago is as real as the “now”.
  • In the end, we’re all just people- living and breathing. So people who feel like they’re superior for one reason or the other should give themselves a big slap on the cheek and remind themselves to be grounded.
  • I suddenly feel nostalgic for all people who have experienced the wars of the past.  My grandmother experienced the Japanese-Filipino war. When she was alive, she often told me stories about her experiences. Back then, what she told me didn’t sink in as actual events but as stories. Something that was far away. Something I couldn’t relate
    to. It must have been REALLY, REALLY scary living during those times.
  • I really, really hope the Philippines can come up with something like this. I know we can. Maybe someday we will.
  • The power of words has amazed me once again.

” Words are life, Liesel. All those pages, they’re for you to fill.”, Max Vadenburg, The Book Thief

****

Leave a Reply

